Do You Know What I Have Done for You?

In Lent 2006, my class in the seminary (Ordination Class 2007) organized a service called the Tenebrae at Saint Meinrad School of Theology. The youtube audio below features a snippet from this service.

The first part of this clip is a reading from the Gospel of John 13:2-15, 33-38. The Narrator is Randall R. Summers (now a priest of the Archdiocese of Indianapolis and the pastor of St. Barnabas Church in Indianapolis IN). G. Robert Gross (now a priest of the Archdiocese of Dubuque and a parochial vicar of the Basilica of St. Francis Xavier in Dyersville IA) is the Voice of Christ and Paul G. Sullivan (now a priest and Vocation Director of the Diocese of Phoenix AZ) is the Voice of Peter.

The second part features the seminary Schola directed by Mark A. Steichen singing Song of the Lord’s Command by David Haas. The soloist is Dennis Schenkel (now a priest of the Diocese of Memphis and a parochial vicar of St. Louis Church in Memphis TN). I sang in the baritone section of this Schola. The lyrics sung in this clip are as follows:

Refrain: Do You know what I have done for you, you who call Me your Teacher and your Lord? If I have washed your feet so you must do as I have done for you.

1. What I am doing now you do not know
    but after a time has gone by you will understand. (Refrain)
2. Don’t you understand what I must do?
    If you would be mine then I must bend to wash your feet. (Refrain)
3. I have given to you an example.
    What I have done for you, you must do for one another. (Refrain)
4. There is no greater love than this
    than to lay down your life for a friend. (Refrain)

~ by Fr. Noel F. Zamora on Thursday, April 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
