My Song Is Love Unknown

This clip is also from the Tenebrae service organized by my seminary class (Ordination Class 2007) at Saint Meinrad School of Theology in Lent 2006. The youtube audio below features the seminary Schola directed by Mark A. Steichen singing My Song Is Love Unknown, a hymn written in 1664 by Samuel Crossman. There are seven verses to the hymn, but apparently the Schola skipped the sixth in this rendition. Michael B. Chrisman (soon to be ordained a transitional deacon for the Diocese of Pueblo CO) is the soloist for verse 2. Then Deacon Scott E. Nobbe (now a priest of the Archdiocese of Indianapolis IN) is the soloist for verse 5. I sang verse 4 with the rest of the baritone section of the Schola.

My song is love unknown,
My Saviour’s love to me;
Love to the loveless shown,
That they might lovely be.
O who am I, that for my sake
My Lord should take frail flesh and die?

He came from His blest throne
Salvation to bestow;
But men made strange, and none
The longed-for Christ would know:
But O! my Friend, my Friend indeed,
Who at my need His life did spend.

Sometimes they strew His way,
And His strong praises sing;
Resounding all the day
Hosannas to their King:
Then “Crucify!” is all their breath,
And for His death they thirst and cry.

Why, what hath my Lord done?
What makes this rage and spite?
He made the lame to run,
He gave the blind their sight,
Sweet injuries! Yet they at these
Themselves displease, and ’gainst Him rise.

They rise and needs will have
My dear Lord made away;
A murderer they save,
The Prince of life they slay,
Yet steadfast He to suffering goes,
That He His foes from thence might free.

Here might I stay and sing,
No story so divine;
Yet ne’er was love, dear King!
And ne’er was grief like Thine.
This is my Friend, in Whose sweet praise
I all my days could gladly spend.

~ by Fr. Noel F. Zamora on Friday, April 2, 2010.

2 Responses to “My Song Is Love Unknown”

  1. Very moving, Father Noel — thank you for sharing this. I hope for you a truly beautiful and blessed Easter. B.

    • Fr.Noel, thanks for sharing this song,very moving & just perfect for this Lent & Easter celebration. I am staying mostly in Georgia now. I missed the Filipino mass in Louisville.
      HAPPY EASTER !
      NEMY & CECILIA BUCAYU

Leave a Reply

 
