Heaven’s Answer Hidden From Our Sight

This is another clip from the Tenebrae service organized by my seminary class (Ordination Class 2007) at Saint Meinrad School of Theology in Lent 2006. The youtube audio below features the seminary Schola directed by Mark A. Steichen singing Holy Darkness by Daniel Schutte, a song inspired by the writings of St. John of the Cross. The soloists are Joseph R. Weidenbenner (now a priest of the Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau and pastor of St. Mary Church in West Plains MO and Sacred Heart Church in Thayer MO) and Michael B. Chrisman (soon to be ordained a transitional deacon for the Diocese of Pueblo CO). I sang in the baritone section of the Schola.

 

The lyrics sung in this clip are as follows:

Refrain: Holy darkness, blessed night,
Heaven’s answer hidden from our sight.
As we await you, O God of silence,
We embrace Your holy night.

1.  I have tried you in fires of affliction;
     I have taught your soul to grieve.
     In the barren soil of your loneliness,
     there I will plant My seed. (Refrain)

2.  I have taught you the price of compassion;
     you have stood before the grave.
     Though My love can seem
     like a raging storm,
     this is the love that saves. (Refrain)

3.  Were you there
     when I raised up the mountains?
     Can you guide the morning star?
     Does the hawk take flight
     when you give command?
     Why do you doubt My pow’r? (Refrain)

~ by Fr. Noel F. Zamora on Saturday, April 3, 2010.

One Response to “Heaven’s Answer Hidden From Our Sight”

  1. I love this Fr. Noel, I hope that you will bring a spark to our choir, you will find some wonderful singers, especially Susan Coleman…she has a beautiful voice and I love to hear her sing…can’t wait for you to arrive.

Leave a Reply

 
