Letter to St. Andrew Parish

18.v.2010
Tuesday of the Seventh Week of Easter
 
My dear parish family at St. Andrew’s and St. Mary’s:
 
Pax Christi!
 
When I met with the Bishop on Tuesday, May 11, he smiled and said to me that he was happy about my new assignment and he was sure that I would be happy about it, too. You know what, he is right: I am happy and excited to join your—our—parish in July. I first visited Harrodsburg and Perryville in July 2001, two months after I arrived here in the United States, and little did I know that I would be calling them home in July 2010.
 
At this time, I wanted to write this short note to introduce myself to you before I arrive officially. I was born in Angeles City, home at one point to Clark Air Force Base in the Philippines. I have spent 24 of my 33 years in Catholic schools, either as a student, a college professor, a seminarian, or a graduate student of Canon Law. I was teaching Language and Literature at the University of the Assumption in the City of San Fernando, Pampanga, before I came here to the diocese of Lexington to study for the priesthood in May 2001. The first Ordination to the Priesthood that I had attended in the diocese was that of Fr. Danny Schwendeman! That was on May 19, 2001. I was ordained to the Priesthood by Bishop Gainer on Fr. Danny’s sixth anniversary of ordination: May 19, 2007.
 
After my ordination, I was assigned as Parochial Vicar to my home parish, Mary, Queen of the Holy Rosary Church, in Lexington. I served there from July 2007 until I left for summer studies in Canon Law in Los Angeles in June 2009. When I returned from California in September 2009, I began my ministry as Parochial Vicar at Holy Spirit Parish, the Newman Center at the University of Kentucky. So, if you would like to know more about me, I suggest that you ask anyone whom you know from Mary Queen or the Newman Center.
 
I look forward to crossing the bridge over the Kentucky River and ministering there in Mercer County. In the meantime, know that you are all in my prayers.
 
May we prefer nothing to the love of Christ and may He bring us all together to everlasting life!
 
amdg,
Fr. Noel Zamora

~ by Fr. Noel F. Zamora on Tuesday, May 18, 2010.

One Response to “Letter to St. Andrew Parish”

  1. Fr. Noel,

    I am so looking forward to meeting you…I had a parishoner from Mary Queen tell me…you are going to love Fr. Noel. This fiend is quite mad though, first we got Fr. Danny and now we will get you, I am honored.

    Fr. Noel, I want to share with you that I pray that God gives you all the blessings that will be necesarry as you make your transition to St. Andrew, while we will miss Fr. Danny greatly…you are our priest and we look forward to you joining our family.

    If there is ever anything that you need from me, please always call – I come from a large family and we are here to support you.

    Peace,

    Pamela

Leave a Reply

 
