More Than Enough

Homily for the Solemnity of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ
Preached on June 6, 2010 at Holy Spirit Parish/The Newman Center at the University of Kentucky, Lexington KY
Readings: Genesis 14:18-20; Psalm 110:1, 2, 3, 4; 1 Corinthians 11:23-26; Luke 9:11b-17

The hungry orphans huddled together to draw lots. The loser, they decided, had to ask for another portion of gruel. Oliver Twist drew the short straw, so the boys pushed him forward, and he, his body trembling, approached Mister Bumble with his empty bowl in hand to make his famous request, “Please, sir, I want some more.”

Mister Bumble responded: “More?!” The beadle couldn’t hide his shock and his anger that anyone would even dare to ask for more. And yet, Oliver’s plea resounds in every human heart that has felt that hunger, not just for food, and turned to the world and said: I want more than just the gruel that I am being served.

I want some more money to pay the bills, to afford this-and-that, to save for retirement.

I want some more benefits for my health, for my teeth, for my eyes, and for the health, teeth, and eyes of my family. I want more coverage from my insurance.

I want some more love, more affection, more attention, more affirmation, more recognition.

I want some more control in my life, more direction, more chances, more input, more voice, more time.

I want some more, not just for myself, but also so that I can have more to share.

I want some more and I think you want some more, too.

Yet, the world always leaves me, leaves us hanging with a whole lot less. We find ourselves lost in the crowd, short on provisions in the desert (cf. Lk. 9:12). Often, like the Twelve, “five loaves and two fish are all we have” (Lk. 9:13). With so little for so many, how can we possibly share and still ourselves be satisfied?

So, we approach this table, sometimes with a whole lot less than five loaves and two fish, and we come asking Jesus, “Please, Sir, I want some more.”

And Jesus never disappoints. We approach with empty bowls and, at times, empty hearts, and He never holds back in giving us His everything: His own Body given up for us, His own Blood poured out for the new covenant (cf. 1 Cor. 11:25-26). Here we see that only Jesus can feed too many with too little and still have more to spare. Jesus takes what little we have, blesses that, breaks that, and gives us but a crumb and our hunger is fed, gives us just a sip and our thirst is slaked. Here alone can all come and eat and be satisfied (cf. Lk. 9:17).

We approach this table, hungry for some more than what the world has to offer. The Good News is only with Jesus can we ask for some more and leave with more than enough.

~ by Fr. Noel F. Zamora on Sunday, June 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
