Slabs of Glass
All that We Have: The Stained Glass Windows in the Daily Mass Chapel, Part 1
Published on February 23-24, 2013 in the Parish Bulletin of Saint Andrew Catholic Church, Harrodsburg KY
The stained glass windows in the Daily Mass Chapel had once adorned the sanctuary wall of the 1976 Saint Andrew Church on Chiles Street. They flanked then as they do now the huge crucifix that was donated by Joseph and Mary Keller for the 1893 Church. They were moved to their present location in the chapel after the new Church was built in 2001.
These windows were designed by the Reverend Henry B. Schuhmann (1919-1989) who was pastor of Saint Andrew’s from 1983 to 1989. They were built by the renowned German-born glass artist Peter K. Eichchorn (1942-) through Fenestra Studios in Louisville, Kentucky. According to the January 1, 1987 issue of the Harrodsburg Herald, these windows were installed in the old Church in time for Christmas 1986.
In making them, Eichchorn used the modern technique known by its French name, dalle de verre (literally, slabs of glass). [Gabriel Loire (1904-1996) of Ateliers Loire in Chartres, France used the same technique in building the windows of the Cathedral of Christ the King in Lexington.] Each chunk of colored glass is an inch thick and had been cut and faceted with a carbide hammer. The glass pieces were then set into a concrete mix, giving the windows an appearance reminiscent of mosaic. Yet, unlike mosaic, the glass glows with a gem-like brilliance when strong sunlight shines through.
These two chapel windows trace the history of our salvation as it has been revealed through the Sacred Scriptures. If one were facing the crucifix, the window on the left shows stories from the Old Testament: creation, the patriarchs, the law, and the prophets. The window on the right depicts the mysteries of the New Testament: the Incarnation, the Baptism of the Lord and His Passion, Death, and Resurrection.