Moving to Morehead

Published on July 25-26, 2015 in the Parish Bulletin of Saint Andrew Catholic Church, Harrodsburg KY

On August 6, 2015, I will assume the role of Pastor of Jesus, Our Savior Catholic Church in Morehead KY, its Newman Center at Morehead State University, and its mission, Saint Julie Catholic Church in Owingsville KY. I will be taking the place there of the Very Rev. Paul G. Prabell as he returns to the Cathedral of Christ the King in Lexington KY for his second stint as its Rector. The Rev. Albert J. DeGiacomo will replace me here as Pastor of Saint Andrew and Saint Mary in Perryville. Fr. Al comes to us from the Newman Center at the University of Kentucky, Holy Spirit Parish in Lexington KY, where he has been serving as Pastor for the past six years.

jesusoursavior

Jesus, Our Savior Catholic Church in Morehead KY

Unforeseen transitions like these often throw all of our plans, hopes, and expectations in disarray, and so I ask you to be patient with us and to pray for us as we move in and out of our parishes. You and I now share five years worth of history and it is foolish to think that those bonds just go away just because I have moved away. I already have assured the couples whom I have prepared for marriage that I am committed to presiding over their weddings as scheduled. I also promise you that, insofar as I am available, I am open to any invitations to come back and celebrate with you the sacraments. I will make an effort to attend funerals when I can and be accessible to couples who would want me to prepare them for marriage. But, I also realize that you need to welcome Fr. Al as much as you have welcomed me. I ask you then to give him the same chance that you have given me in my brief time as your pastor so that you too may form with him a lasting bond of friendship and faith.

I have made it clear to our staff and to our Peer Ministry and Service Committees that I do not want to have a going-away party. I would rather have you save all that energy and expense for the welcome that you will give to our new Bishop when he comes to install Fr. Al as your new pastor on August 16. If you would like to honor me, I would prefer that you give a donation to the Saint Andrew Building Fund. We still have three and a half more years before we are able to pay off our Church debt. I had hoped that we would have paid it all off before I leave; your gift though will go a long way into making my dream of a debt-free parish a reality.

Those who would like to keep contact with me after I leave can do so through Facebook or through my new mailing address: 404 North Wilson Avenue Morehead KY 40351. I also plan on keeping my cell phone number even as I move to a place where the area code is 606.

The weekend of August 1 and 2 is supposed to be my last here at Saint Andrew and Saint Mary. I look forward to seeing all of you then around the table of the Lord where we hope He will gather us again in His future full of hope (cf. Jer. 29:11).

~ by Fr. Noel F. Zamora on Saturday, July 25, 2015.

One Response to “Moving to Morehead”

  1. All the very best to you in your new position. Moorehead is very blessed to have you. One step nearer to Prestonsburg!

Leave a Reply

 
